Sahel Confederation: Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger seal their exit from ECOWAS

“Union lattice against ECOWAS”, headlines the Senegalese newspaper The Daily. A nod to the family photo of the putschists from Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso, who posed in military uniform on July 6 in Niamey, to mark the creation of a Confederation of Sahel States.

United under the banner of the Alliance of Sahel States (AES) since September 16, 2023, they had announced on January 28 their exit from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), and reached a new level this Saturday, July 6… on the eve of the 65the ordinary summit of heads of state and government of ECOWAS.

Two emissaries have nevertheless been designated to dialogue with the leaders of the AES: the Togolese Faure Gnassingbé and the Senegalese president, Bassirou Diomaye Faye, already sent to Bamako and Ouagadougou at the end of May. “His sovereignist stance gives him a certain legitimacy to play a role as mediator between the AES and ECOWAS,” writing The Daily. Who wonders: “Will this be enough?”

In Abuja, he said the withdrawal “of the three brother countries (…) would be the worst scenario and a great injury to the pan-Africanism that the founding fathers bequeathed to us”. Before sketching out any tracks of

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button